Hi,
More Qovid revision going on : This time I have dug out paqman and updated it, removing the one remaining quirk.
Just unzip it, LRUN, enter the required difficulty, then use the arrow keys or ESCape.
Tested ok on QPC2, SGCqdos and SGCsmsq/e (with SH). All GOTOs removed and all variables LOCALised.
Should be ok on other QL configurations ?
My grandchildren enjoy it...
Best wishes,
Steve.
PaQman game
-
- Aurora
- Posts: 889
- Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 2:03 pm
Re: PaQman game
Hi again,
If you remove the CLEAR statement, the program will Turbo-compile and EXEC ok with 15ko of dataspace.
Regards,
Steve.
If you remove the CLEAR statement, the program will Turbo-compile and EXEC ok with 15ko of dataspace.
Regards,
Steve.
- Sparrowhawk
- Super Gold Card
- Posts: 720
- Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 12:33 pm
- Location: @131072
Re: PaQman game
Hi there,
I get:
I just started up Q-emuLator 2 (macOS) and set the QL to JS ROM Gold Card with 640K - TK2 enabled.
Does this need SMSQE?
Thanks,
JY
I get:
Code: Select all
RUN
At line 200 Bad name
Does this need SMSQE?
Thanks,
JY
a.k.a. Jean-Yves
Re: PaQman game
You may find that there's more than just "bad parameter" here - this is our old friend the "more than 9 local parameters" bug, lines 150 to 190, discussed on the Forum recently.Sparrowhawk wrote:Hi there,
I get:I just started up Q-emuLator 2 (macOS) and set the QL to JS ROM Gold Card with 640K - TK2 enabled.Code: Select all
RUN At line 200 Bad name
Does this need SMSQE?
Thanks,
JY
Screen dump taken on QemuLator 3.3.1 Windoze with JS ROM attached to show what happens to lines after the LOCal parameters on a QDOS systems (it runs fine in SBASIC - I just ran it on QPC2).
--
All things QL - https://dilwyn.theqlforum.com
All things QL - https://dilwyn.theqlforum.com
Re: PaQman game
@stevepoole What is the use of i1$, i2$,i3$ and i4$ ?
is will always be code(i1$) because code(i1$&i2$&i3$&i4$)=code(i1$)
and i2$, i3$ and i4$ are never parsed - so only 1 in 4 keystrokes are processed by the game.
Am I missing something here?
Code: Select all
1220 DEFine PROCedure flash_pacman
1230 INK 6
1240 pr my,mx,'O': i1$=INKEY$(#1,PS)
1250 pr my,mx,'O': i2$=INKEY$(#1,PS)
1260 pr my,mx,'C': i3$=INKEY$(#1,PS)
1270 pr my,mx,'C': i4$=INKEY$(#1,PS)
1280 END DEFine
1290 :
1330 :
1340 DEFine PROCedure move_pacman
1345 LOCal test
1350 REMark get all previous keystrokes:
1360 i$=i1$&i2$&i3$&i4$
1370 IF i$='': is=0: ELSE is=CODE(i$)
and i2$, i3$ and i4$ are never parsed - so only 1 in 4 keystrokes are processed by the game.
Am I missing something here?
-
- Aurora
- Posts: 889
- Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 2:03 pm
Re: PaQman game
Hi All,
1) SparrowHawk : Sorry I don't have QEmulator to test on ! I have got rid of the multiple LOCals which may fix the problem ? Please let me know...
2) Andrew : Well spotted, i2$,i3$ and i4$ are unecessary ! This happened because in an early prototype, there were 8 seperate inkey$ calls, which I regrouped in the 'pr' routine, and forgot to reduce them to one.
3) Thanks Dilwyn for the screen shot. Do you know if SuperHermes invokes smsq/e ? (I had thought not).
4) Beware : two zombies on one cell XOR each other out, so they may tempoarily disappear, and ressucitate !
5) Be sure to always get rid of any CLEAR before compiling, else the executed program will halt...
6) I have not completely tidied up the listing, in case SparrowHawk discovers more problems with Qdos. But tested ok on my setups.
Steve.
1) SparrowHawk : Sorry I don't have QEmulator to test on ! I have got rid of the multiple LOCals which may fix the problem ? Please let me know...
2) Andrew : Well spotted, i2$,i3$ and i4$ are unecessary ! This happened because in an early prototype, there were 8 seperate inkey$ calls, which I regrouped in the 'pr' routine, and forgot to reduce them to one.
3) Thanks Dilwyn for the screen shot. Do you know if SuperHermes invokes smsq/e ? (I had thought not).
4) Beware : two zombies on one cell XOR each other out, so they may tempoarily disappear, and ressucitate !
5) Be sure to always get rid of any CLEAR before compiling, else the executed program will halt...
6) I have not completely tidied up the listing, in case SparrowHawk discovers more problems with Qdos. But tested ok on my setups.
Steve.
- Sparrowhawk
- Super Gold Card
- Posts: 720
- Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 12:33 pm
- Location: @131072