Page 2 of 7
Re: How to start programming with assembly?
Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2015 10:52 pm
by Derek_Stewart
Hi,
You would be better using: - Q-Mac Macro Assembler, Quanta version, which is available on Dilwyn Jones's Web Site.
Also why not use QPC2 or SMSQEmulator both are free and SMSQEmulator is still in devlopment.
Re: How to start programming with assembly?
Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:01 am
by g0blinish
tofro wrote:Just seen:
The SEXEC in your above post is wrong.
Instead of
it should read
You have definitively saved
something, but most probably not the code you have loaded to address a
Tobias
but issue in line 20
Derek_Stewart wrote:Hi,
You would be better using: - Q-Mac Macro Assembler, Quanta version, which is available on Dilwyn Jones's Web Site.
Also why not use QPC2 or SMSQEmulator both are free and SMSQEmulator is still in devlopment.
Same error message with Q-Mac if i choose ZIP file in Qemulator.
SMSQEmulator

QPC2? no, thanks
Re: How to start programming with assembly?
Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:09 am
by Wimdev
The adder assembler only runs on 128Kb QLs. If you run it under Qemulator with more than that, it won't make it through its start-up screen (I just double-checked). I'm not seeing the 'bad or changed medium' error though. Perhaps your copy of asm is corrupt?
Wim
Re: How to start programming with assembly?
Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:10 am
by g0blinish
seems byte 6-9 is file length. for amiga_exe(35 520 bytes) value doesn't related to $11, $70.
Re: How to start programming with assembly?
Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:11 am
by g0blinish
Wimdev wrote: Perhaps your copy of asm is corrupt?
Wim
downloaded from "Dilwyn Jones's Web Site".
Re: How to start programming with assembly?
Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:22 am
by Wimdev
Okay, I just download that version too. It's a zip file, so download as is, and put it somewhere. Under QEmulator, attach the zip file to slot 1 (as ZIP/QLPAK). If you do dir flp1_ (or win1_) you should see asm, asmhelp, asmtext, and boot. Just type exec_w flp1_asm and it should run, provided you only have 128 Kb on your emulator.
Wim
Re: How to start programming with assembly?
Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:30 am
by Wimdev
Ah, I just realize that the zip file on Dylwin's site is actually from me. That boot file looked awfully familiar. Anyway, it appears I'm about the only one who uses the Adder assembler. If it's not working for you, or you'd like a more modern implementation, there's plenty of other options (also at Dylwin's site). The GST macro assembler comes to mind.
Wim
Re: How to start programming with assembly?
Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2015 5:08 am
by g0blinish
No, same error:( masybe reason in .ZIP with metadata?
Qemulator runs with 128K.
Re: How to start programming with assembly?
Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2015 5:30 am
by g0blinish
Adder not works on QLAY2, configuration is 128K.
it runs after 'ew win1_asm' folder WIN1 has asmhelp and asmtext too. There are logo and no responce(
Re: How to start programming with assembly?
Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2015 10:27 am
by Derek_Stewart
Hi,
I have just had a quick look at the the ADDR assembler in a disassembler, looks a really badly written piece of software. QMAC is far better and has macro facilities.
I am not sure why you need to SEXEC the ASM assmbler file, if you unzip the file in a QL environment, the executable header will be intact.